I have a new administrator (principal) that just started after Thaksgiving. I asked to talk to her last week about my diabetes, and the fact that I often struggles with lows and an urgency to use the restroom. She told me that was my problem and to talk to my doctor. Any suggestions how to "tactfully" respond?

Views: 289

Replies to This Discussion

I am newly diagnosed, and when I went to my principal, he was very understanding and willing to accommodate. I am a special education teacher and my wife is a human resources director, so we know a lot about workplace accommodations. The Americans with Disabilities Act, ADA, prevents employers from discriminating because of health problems. Maybe your principal is uneducated, and you should talk to her and let her know this is a disability, and that some things are out of your control. She may ask if it affects your ability to perform your job successfully, respond with an astounding NO!!! If you don't get the results you want, if I were you, I would call the local ACLU representative and have them mediate for you. This is unacceptable behavior from the principal.
Wow - you need to talk to your NEA or union rep. It is a reasonable accommodation to provide you with frequent coverage to use the restroom or to go to a private place to deal with your lows (i.e., testing, adjusting your insulin, eating, etc...)
Up until now, I haven't had a concern with health (bathroom) breaks...but as of September, I'll be teaching a new format(French), and apparently going from 9:00am till 11:45 without a break. There wont likely be a problem...but my plan, aside from mentioning this to the principal (who, I might add, is not the most compassionate!), is to also seek the aide of the teacher whose children I will be "collecting" for French, say at 10:00, and she can perhaps keep an eye on them while I zip down to the washroom. Mine is a private school....no unions there!!